Easy DIY Hacks

Do It Yourself – Book Binder

There is no diplomatic or subtle way to say this, so here it goes:

I AM OBSESSED WITH MY BOOKS.

You know… as the saying goes…

“I like big books, and I cannot lie!”

And my obsession even goes as far as to clean them on a regular basis, check their binders to make sure the pages aren’t falling apart, and ensuring I don’t eat while reading them (I’d hate to get food stains on them, tbh).

So that brings me to this quick DIY hack, where my blog planner (yea, I have two different planners that separate my work from blog stuff), which has a ring binder and is often prone to opening up in my bag, especially when I start to stuff it and it’s right at the bottom. This leads to the poor pages crumbling (sometimes even tearing up around the corners)! Hence I decided to make an elastic binder that will keep my notebook shut at all times, reducing the number of times the corners of the pages could become creased. *purr*

Hah! Needless to say, I’m super happy with this DIY and find it to be incredibly useful too!

Literally taking less than 2 minutes and exactly 2 steps to make it, I’d highly recommend this to my beloved fellow bookworms.

Things you need:

  1. Book
  2. Elastic
  3. Scissors (normal)/Sewing scissors
  4. needle & thread (matching the colour of the elastic)

2

Steps:

  1. Cut out a strip of elastic that’s about 1 inch more than twice the length of the notebook.
  2. Sew it close!

1

Dear math geeks, here’s the equation:

Length of elastic to be cut = 1 inch + (2 x length of book)

Cool eh?

featured

Standard

Leave a Reply

